The Dean Died Over Winter Break - Russell Newquist

The Dean Died Over Winter Break

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusFacebooktwittergoogle_plus

Dean Floden is dead!

Winter break is normally a peaceful time at the university, especially during a blizzard. So it shocked everyone when they found the dean murdered at his desk. Thanks to an empty campus, there are no witnesses and police have little to go on. With the police stymied, and hoping to wrap up the investigation before students return for the spring semester, the president of the university has turned to the Franciscan Brothers of Investigation for help.

Jovial and mild mannered Brother Francis arrived on the scene to find a jealous mistress, a clever drug dealer, a disappointed researcher, and a mortally insulted professor on his short list of suspects. Did one of them do the other three a huge favor? Or was it someone else entirely?

Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Dorothy L. Sayers!

 


 

The Dean Died Over Winter Break by Christopher Lansdown is the first mystery novel from Silver Empire. I think you’ll agree that Lansdown’s investigator-monks in this old-school cozy mystery hearken back to the likes of Brother Cadfael and Father Brown. Three time Dragon Award nominee Declan Finn calls it, “A cozy so old school, you expect Lord Peter Wimsey to walk into a scene, with behavioral analysis that would make Father Brown or Philo Vance happy.” But don’t take our word for it. Here’s what readers have to say:

  • “It was very difficult to put down the book and not read, read it until the last page!” – Keti
  • “If you’re a fan of Brother Cadfael, you’ll like this novel.” – Borderbumble
  • “It’s well worth a read for any mystery fan just for the unique detectives. I’d love to see a sequel.” – Nigel
  • “It is a quick and enjoyable read with interesting characters with whom I’d like to spend more time in the sequels.” – Alfred

The Dean Died Over Winter Break is available now on Amazon.com in eBook or paperback. The eBook is currently only $0.99 – but hurry, that price will only last through Saturday, March 3!

Russell Newquist

My name is Russell Newquist. I am a software engineer, a martial artist, an author, an editor, a businessman and a blogger. I have a Bachelor of Arts degree in Philosophy and a Master of Science degree in Computer Science, but I'm technically a high school dropout. I also think that everything in this paragraph is pretty close to meaningless. I work for a really great small company in Huntsville, Alabama building really cool software. I'm the owner and head instructor of Madison Martial Arts Academy, which I opened in 2013 less to make money and more because I just really enjoy a good martial arts workout with friends. I'm the editor in chief of Silver Empire and also one of the published authors there. And, of course, there is this blog - and all of its predecessors. There's no particular reason you should trust anything I say any more than any other source. So read it, read other stuff, and think for your damn self - if our society hasn't yet over-educated you to the point that you've forgotten how.

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below